On Encountering a Bookish Volunteer on Be My Eyes

Let me start this with a statement. I am usually not the guy to start a conversation, especially with a stranger from the opposite gender. Unless I know the person well, I always play the second fiddle in such interactions. Someone will usually kick off a chat with a nervous hello, followed by a question. In such situations, my entire focus will be to give them the answer they need, so I could be left alone. But, today was different.

This evening, I was updating my laptop. Minutes after I pressed the restart button to complete the process, I realized something was wrong. My screen reader left me stranded, and my laptop was stuck in the startup screen. I tried using the Lookout app from Google to understand what was going on. But the app did not recognize any text. So, I had to ask for help. Unfortunately, I was alone.

I thought of video calling any one of my friends to get help. But I abandoned the idea, because I did not know what they were going through. So, I picked up my mobile and opened the Be My Eyes app as a last-ditch effort. In my mind I was like “If no-one answers my call, I will force my computer to restart by holding the power button.” Even though it was a bad idea, I was prepared to do it.

But thankfully, a woman answered my call within seconds after I pressed the button to call the first available volunteer. After a first few seconds of us exchanging nervous hellos, I plucked up the courage and asked her to help me figure out what was going on in my laptop.

“I think your battery is low,” the woman said. Suddenly I understood why Lookout did not recognize any text. It was yet another way in which this ocularcentric world tested me with just visual symbols. Seconds after I wire-feed electricity to my computer, it was back on. This is the usual part where I thank the volunteer for their help and end the call. But, today was different.

“My computer is back on. Thank you so much for your help.” I said. “You are welcome,” the woman replied. This is the usual place I end the call. But not today. Today was different. “Well, do you mind if I ask you a couple of questions before ending the call?” I asked. I Imagin the woman was surprised just like me. “Sure,” the woman replied. “What made you to sign  up as a volunteer to offer help? And, what is your memorable call?”

“Well, I don’t believe in religion. But I am spiritual. I joined this app to be helpful in a meaningful way to someone.” The woman said in reference to my first question. I was impressed about her bold and assured way of talking about her thoughts on religion. “My most memorable call was the one in which I helped someone with their journey of discovering books, podcasts and shows about crime and detective fiction.”

It was a perfect coincidence. I love crime fiction and none of my friends are into such books. I felt a bit adventurous, so I fired back another question. “Since you are a bookworm, what was the last book you have finished reading?” She told me about Daring Greatly by Brené Brown. It was another coincidence, as it is a title that is in my To Be Read list. I thanked her for her answer, and asked her if I could suggest a book to her. She said yes as long as the book does not belong to the horror genre. After a playful jibe about her fear of horror novels, I talked about 10 Minutes and 38 Seconds in this Strange World by Elif Shafak, one of my all-time favorite novels. She looked up the book online and thanked me for my recommendation. Just before ending the call, the woman surprised me by asking my name.

Though I have used Be My Eyes many times before, this was the first time I stretched a session beyond the usual formalities. I usually call a volunteer, ask for help, thank them for helping and end the call. But today was the first time  I truly interacted with a stranger. I will remember this chat not for the woman’s help in reviving my laptop, but for the few minutes we spent talking about her previous volunteering experiences and most importantly for our chat about books. I will remember this call for my unusual courage that let me talk to another bookworm like me and exchange book recommendations.

Leave a comment